contact us faq

County Commission

Who is my Commissioner?
Warren County Commission Committees
County Commission Court Docket/Agenda (March 2019- present)
County Commission Court Docket/Agenda (January 2017- May 2019)
County Commission Court Minutes (March 2019- present)
County Commission Court Meeting Video Recordings (September 2018- Present)Public Notice - Schedule of Commission Meetings 2021
Public Records Policy (Adopted May 2017)
Public Records Request Form
Public Records Request Response Form
Warren County Online Application for Board/Committee Service

Warren County Commission Meeting Dates for 2021

Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Monday, March 15, 2021
Monday, April 19, 2021
Monday, May 17, 2021
Monday, June 28, 2021
Monday, July 19, 2021
Monday, August 16, 2021
Monday, September 20, 2021
Monday, October 18, 2021
Monday, November 15, 2021
Monday, December 20, 2021


What We Do...

The Tennessee Constitution provides that each county (not having a metropolitan form of government) must elect a county legislative body, whose members serve a term of four years. In Warren County this body is referred to as the county commission and a member is referred to as a county commissioner.

The Warren County Commission is composed of 24 members, with two members elected from each of the county's 12 districts. The county executive serves as a nonvoting ex officio member of the county legislative body.

County commissioners are elected by popular vote in the regular August election in those even-numbered years in which the governor is elected, and each county commissioner takes office on September 1 following the election, after receiving the proper certificate of election and taking the required oath of office.

The Warren County Commission is the primary policy-making body in the county. The county legislative body has considerable discretion in dealing with the budget for all funds except the school budget, which in most counties must be accepted or rejected as a whole. If rejected, the school board must continue to propose alternatives until a budget is adopted by both the county school board and the county legislative body.

The county legislative body sets a property tax rate that, along with revenues from other county taxes and fees as well as state and federal monies allocated to the county, are used to fund the budget. The county legislative body is subject to various restrictions in imposing most taxes (such as referendum approval or rate limits), although these do not apply to the property tax.

The county legislative body serves an important role in exercising local approval authority for private acts when the private act does not call for referendum approval. Private acts, which often give additional authority to counties, must be approved by a two-thirds vote of the members of the county legislative body or be approved by a referendum in order to become effective. The form of local approval required is specified in the private act.

The county commission annually elects a chair and a chair pro tempore. The county may elect the county executive or a member of the body to be the chair, although the county executive may refuse to serve. If the county executive is chair, he or she may vote only to break a tie vote. If a member is chair, the member votes as a member, but cannot vote again to break a tie. If the county executive is not chair, he or she may veto most resolutions of the county legislative body, but this veto may be overridden by a majority vote. The majority vote that is required for this and the passage of resolutions and most other measures is a majority of the entire actual membership of the county legislative body, and not a majority of the quorum, nor a majority of the authorized membership.

The Warren County Commission holds regular meetings on the third Monday of each month at 6:30 PM in the Warren County Administrative Building, except as where noted below.

Please note: Pursuant to Resolution No. 36-2016 adopted November 21, 2016, the following changes have been made to the schedule of monthly county commission meetings:

The January regular sessions of county court will be held on the TUESDAY following the third Monday to avoid conflict with the legal holiday of Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

The February regular sessions of county court will be held on the TUESDAY following the third Monday to avoid conflict with the legal holiday of Presidents Day.

Regular sessions of county court held in the months of March through December will remain scheduled for the third Monday of each month.

The county executive also has the power to call a special meeting of the county commission when deemed necessary. In addition, a majority of the county commissioners may call a special meeting by making application to the chair of the county commission. In general, the call for a special meeting must be made in a newspaper publication or by personal notices to the county commissioners sent by the county clerk. This notice must be at least five days before the time for convening the county legislative body. Notice of meeting must be made to be public under the Open Meetings Law even if no other specific law applies.

Another important function of the county legislative body is its role in electing county officers when there is a vacancy in an elected county office. The person elected by the county legislative body serves in the office for the remainder of the term or until a successor is elected, depending upon when the vacancy occurred.

County Executive 
Jimmy Haley

Chairman of Commission
Blaine Wilcher

Chairman Pro Tem
Scott Rubley

Joseph Stotts

Commissioners By District

District 1: Ron Lee
  Christy Ross
District 2: Carl Edward Bouldin
  Robert Hennessee
District 3: Kacey Owens
  Joseph Stotts
District 4: David Dunlap
  Blaine Wilcher
District 5: Brad Hillis
  Tyrone Sparkman
District 6: Deborah Evans
  Phillip Stout
District 7: Gary Martin
  Tommy Savage
District 8: Randy England
  Scott Rubley
District 9: Carlene Brown
  Steven D. Helton
District 10: Gary Prater
  Cole Taylor
District 11: Michael Bell
  Steve M. Glenn
District 12: Carl D. Bouldin
  Daniel Owens